Idaho · certificate of good standing · verified 2026-09-12
Idaho certificate of good standing: $10, ordered online from the Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division
Idaho issues it as a Certificate of Existence. The state fee is $10, turnaround at last check: not stated. It proves the LLC is current on its state filings on the day it is printed, which is why banks want one dated within the last 30 days.
- Direct link to the official Idaho order page
- Ordered online from the state
- What the bank does with it
What a Idaho certificate of existence says, and who asks for it
A certificate of good standing is a one-page statement from the Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division that your LLC exists on the state’s records and is current on what the state requires of it. In Idaho the official name is Certificate of Existence. It does not say anything about taxes owed elsewhere, licences or lawsuits; it says the entity is in good standing with the filing office on the date printed.
Four people ask for it: the bank opening the business account, a lender underwriting a loan, another state’s filing office when you register the LLC there as a foreign entity, and a buyer or investor doing diligence. All of them want a recent one, because the certificate is a snapshot and a company can fall out of standing the day after it is printed.
Source: Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division, sos.idaho.gov · Order via SOSBiz: search the entity at https://sosbiz.idaho.gov/search/business, click 'Request Certificate', pay $10. Paper alternative: Certificate Request form PDF; certificates verifiable at sosbiz.idaho.gov/verifycertificate. Page warns third-party sites charge inflated prices.. Verified 2026-09-12.
How to order it in Idaho
Open the official page and look the company up by name or file number. If it shows as delinquent or not in good standing, stop here: the certificate will not issue until that is fixed.
Select the certificate of existence, pay the $10 state fee on the state system, and download or wait for delivery. Turnaround at last check: not stated.
Time the order for the week of the bank appointment or the loan closing. A certificate from two months ago is usually sent back for a fresh one, and you pay the fee twice.
Heading to the bank?
The certificate is one of four documents the bank will ask for
Banks want the certificate of good standing in Idaho dated inside the last 30 days, next to certified articles, the signed operating agreement and the IRS EIN letter. The Bank-Ready Pack orders the certificate from the state the day you pay, so it lands inside the window, and assembles the rest from one form.
- Certificate ordered from the state when you pay; state fee invoiced at cost
- Operating agreement and banking resolution generated from your answers
- One dated pack, ready for the account-opening appointment
If the state says the LLC is not in good standing
Catch up the state filing
In Idaho that means the Idaho annual report, due the last day of your formation anniversary month, state fee $0, filed on time every cycle, plus a registered agent on file every day the LLC exists. Idaho annual report page, with free reminders at 60, 30 and 7 days.
Reinstate if it was dissolved
Miss enough cycles and the state administratively dissolves the LLC. Reinstatement means the back reports, the state’s reinstatement fee and a fresh registered agent; the certificate issues once it posts. How reinstatement works.
Keep an agent on file
Every Idaho LLC must keep a registered agent at a Idaho street address. A lapsed agent is one of the quickest ways out of good standing. Idaho registered agent, $74.25 a year.
Watch every entity at once
Own more than one company? The free portfolio board shows each state’s deadline and standing side by side, so no certificate order turns into a surprise.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Idaho certificate of good standing cost?
The Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division charges $10 for a certificate of existence, verified 2026-09-12 on the official fee page linked on this page. Expedited service or a certified copy of the formation documents, where offered, is priced separately by the state.
How do I get a certificate of good standing in Idaho?
Order it from the Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division online, using the official page linked on this page. Turnaround at last check: not stated. The LLC must be current on its state filings for the certificate to issue.
What is a certificate of good standing called in Idaho?
Idaho issues it as a Certificate of Existence. Banks, lenders and other states accept it as the good-standing document whatever the local name, as long as it is recent and issued by the state.
Why does the bank want it dated within 30 days?
The certificate is a snapshot: it says the company was in good standing on the day the state printed it. Banks and lenders treat it as proof the company is current now, so most ask for one issued within the last 30 days, a few accept 60. Order it the week you need it, not the month before.
What keeps a Idaho LLC in good standing?
Filing the Idaho annual report on time, due the last day of your formation anniversary month, state fee $0, and keeping a registered agent on file. Miss the report and the state marks the company delinquent; the certificate will not issue until it is caught up and any reinstatement is complete.
Is this legal advice?
No. Vermilion Vitez is a filing-services company, not a law firm. This page is educational reference information verified 2026-09-12; the Idaho Secretary of State, Business Services Division site is the final word.
Registered in another state too?
A foreign registration needs a certificate from the home state, and each state prices and names the document differently. All states on one page, or jump straight to one.
Last step
Need it for the bank? Let the pack order it on the right day.
Certificate from the Idaho agency, articles, operating agreement and EIN letter, dated for the appointment.
Or call (954) 470-8356 — we pick up.