South Dakota · certificate of good standing · verified 2026-09-12
South Dakota certificate of good standing: $20, ordered online from the South Dakota Secretary of State
South Dakota issues it as a Certificate of Good Standing. The state fee is $20, turnaround at last check: not stated. It proves the LLC is current on its state filings on the day it is printed, which is why banks want one dated within the last 30 days.
- Direct link to the official South Dakota order page
- Ordered online from the state
- What the bank does with it
What a South Dakota certificate of good standing says, and who asks for it
A certificate of good standing is a one-page statement from the South Dakota Secretary of State that your LLC exists on the state’s records and is current on what the state requires of it. In South Dakota the official name is Certificate of Good Standing. It does not say anything about taxes owed elsewhere, licences or lawsuits; it says the entity is in good standing with the filing office on the date printed.
Four people ask for it: the bank opening the business account, a lender underwriting a loan, another state’s filing office when you register the LLC there as a foreign entity, and a buyer or investor doing diligence. All of them want a recent one, because the certificate is a snapshot and a company can fall out of standing the day after it is printed.
Source: South Dakota Secretary of State, sosenterprise.sd.gov · Official wording: Certificate of Good Standing/Existence. Electronic-only request via the SOS Enterprise portal (enter Business ID, pay by card); fee schedule prints $20 online / $35 paper. Certified copies are separate ($15 + $2/page).. Verified 2026-09-12.
How to order it in South Dakota
Open the official page and look the company up by name or file number. If it shows as delinquent or not in good standing, stop here: the certificate will not issue until that is fixed.
Select the certificate of good standing, pay the $20 state fee on the state system, and download or wait for delivery. Turnaround at last check: not stated.
Time the order for the week of the bank appointment or the loan closing. A certificate from two months ago is usually sent back for a fresh one, and you pay the fee twice.
Heading to the bank?
The certificate is one of four documents the bank will ask for
Banks want the certificate of good standing in South Dakota dated inside the last 30 days, next to certified articles, the signed operating agreement and the IRS EIN letter. The Bank-Ready Pack orders the certificate from the state the day you pay, so it lands inside the window, and assembles the rest from one form.
- Certificate ordered from the state when you pay; state fee invoiced at cost
- Operating agreement and banking resolution generated from your answers
- One dated pack, ready for the account-opening appointment
If the state says the LLC is not in good standing
Catch up the state filing
In South Dakota that means the South Dakota annual report, due the 1st day of your formation anniversary month, state fee $55, filed on time every cycle, plus a registered agent on file every day the LLC exists. South Dakota annual report page, with free reminders at 60, 30 and 7 days.
Reinstate if it was dissolved
Miss enough cycles and the state administratively dissolves the LLC. Reinstatement means the back reports, the state’s reinstatement fee and a fresh registered agent; the certificate issues once it posts. How reinstatement works.
Keep an agent on file
Every South Dakota LLC must keep a registered agent at a South Dakota street address. A lapsed agent is one of the quickest ways out of good standing. South Dakota registered agent, $74.25 a year.
Watch every entity at once
Own more than one company? The free portfolio board shows each state’s deadline and standing side by side, so no certificate order turns into a surprise.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a South Dakota certificate of good standing cost?
The South Dakota Secretary of State charges $20 for a certificate of good standing, verified 2026-09-12 on the official fee page linked on this page. Expedited service or a certified copy of the formation documents, where offered, is priced separately by the state.
How do I get a certificate of good standing in South Dakota?
Order it from the South Dakota Secretary of State online, using the official page linked on this page. Turnaround at last check: not stated. The LLC must be current on its state filings for the certificate to issue.
What is a certificate of good standing called in South Dakota?
South Dakota issues it as a Certificate of Good Standing. Banks, lenders and other states accept it as the good-standing document whatever the local name, as long as it is recent and issued by the state.
Why does the bank want it dated within 30 days?
The certificate is a snapshot: it says the company was in good standing on the day the state printed it. Banks and lenders treat it as proof the company is current now, so most ask for one issued within the last 30 days, a few accept 60. Order it the week you need it, not the month before.
What keeps a South Dakota LLC in good standing?
Filing the South Dakota annual report on time, due the 1st day of your formation anniversary month, state fee $55, and keeping a registered agent on file. Miss the report and the state marks the company delinquent; the certificate will not issue until it is caught up and any reinstatement is complete.
Is this legal advice?
No. Vermilion Vitez is a filing-services company, not a law firm. This page is educational reference information verified 2026-09-12; the South Dakota Secretary of State site is the final word.
Registered in another state too?
A foreign registration needs a certificate from the home state, and each state prices and names the document differently. All states on one page, or jump straight to one.
Last step
Need it for the bank? Let the pack order it on the right day.
Certificate from the South Dakota agency, articles, operating agreement and EIN letter, dated for the appointment.
Or call (954) 470-8356 — we pick up.