Skip to content

Ohio · certificate of good standing · verified 2026-09-12

Ohio certificate of good standing: $5, ordered online from the Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division

Ohio issues it as a Certificate of Good Standing. The state fee is $5, turnaround at last check: not stated. It proves the LLC is current on its state filings on the day it is printed, which is why banks want one dated within the last 30 days.

  • Direct link to the official Ohio order page
  • Ordered online from the state
  • What the bank does with it
$5State fee for the certificate of good standing, verified 2026-09-12
Not statedTurnaround at last check, per the official page
OnlineOrder and pay on the state system; no third party needed

What a Ohio certificate of good standing says, and who asks for it

A certificate of good standing is a one-page statement from the Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division that your LLC exists on the state’s records and is current on what the state requires of it. In Ohio the official name is Certificate of Good Standing. It does not say anything about taxes owed elsewhere, licences or lawsuits; it says the entity is in good standing with the filing office on the date printed.

Four people ask for it: the bank opening the business account, a lender underwriting a loan, another state’s filing office when you register the LLC there as a foreign entity, and a buyer or investor doing diligence. All of them want a recent one, because the certificate is a snapshot and a company can fall out of standing the day after it is printed.

Source: Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division, ohiosos.gov · All ohiosos.gov pages (including order portal https://cogs.ohiosos.gov/ and bsportal.ohiosos.gov/OBCFiling/OrderCertificates.aspx) returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch, so page content could not be confirmed; URLs are from official search results and ohiosos.gov 'Purchase a Certificate of Good Standing' quick links. Fee confirmed on official law site ORC 111.16(K)(1): 'creating and affixing the seal... to any good standing or other certificate, five dollars', and in the Ohio LSC 2026 SOS fee list (lsc.ohio.gov PDF, HTTP 200): $5.00.. Verified 2026-09-12.

Official order page
Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division
Open ohiosos.gov Ohio’s own system. Fee $5, per codes.ohio.gov. Fees change without notice.

How to order it in Ohio

1. Find the LLC on the state record

Open the official page and look the company up by name or file number. If it shows as delinquent or not in good standing, stop here: the certificate will not issue until that is fixed.

2. Order and pay online

Select the certificate of good standing, pay the $5 state fee on the state system, and download or wait for delivery. Turnaround at last check: not stated.

3. Use it inside 30 days

Time the order for the week of the bank appointment or the loan closing. A certificate from two months ago is usually sent back for a fresh one, and you pay the fee twice.

Heading to the bank?

The certificate is one of four documents the bank will ask for

Banks want the certificate of good standing in Ohio dated inside the last 30 days, next to certified articles, the signed operating agreement and the IRS EIN letter. The Bank-Ready Pack orders the certificate from the state the day you pay, so it lands inside the window, and assembles the rest from one form.

  • Certificate ordered from the state when you pay; state fee invoiced at cost
  • Operating agreement and banking resolution generated from your answers
  • One dated pack, ready for the account-opening appointment
Bank-Ready Pack
Everything the bank asked for, dated right
See what is in the pack Price and the state fee are shown on the pack page before you pay.

If the state says the LLC is not in good standing

Catch up the state filing

Ohio asks LLCs for no annual report, so good standing here turns mainly on keeping a registered agent on file and any state tax accounts current. Ohio annual report page, with free reminders at 60, 30 and 7 days.

Reinstate if it was dissolved

Miss enough cycles and the state administratively dissolves the LLC. Reinstatement means the back reports, the state’s reinstatement fee and a fresh registered agent; the certificate issues once it posts. How reinstatement works.

Keep an agent on file

Every Ohio LLC must keep a registered agent at a Ohio street address. A lapsed agent is one of the quickest ways out of good standing. Ohio registered agent, $74.25 a year.

Watch every entity at once

Own more than one company? The free portfolio board shows each state’s deadline and standing side by side, so no certificate order turns into a surprise.

What this is. A sourced reference page from Vermilion Vitez LLC, a filing-services company, not a law or accounting firm. The certificate is issued only by the Ohio agency; we do not issue it, we order it from the state on your behalf inside the Bank-Ready Pack. Agency links, document names, fees and turnaround were read from the official site 2026-09-12; annual-report figures 2026-09-01. States change fees without notice; confirm at the official site before relying on them.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Ohio certificate of good standing cost?

The Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division charges $5 for a certificate of good standing, verified 2026-09-12 on the official fee page linked on this page. Expedited service or a certified copy of the formation documents, where offered, is priced separately by the state.

How do I get a certificate of good standing in Ohio?

Order it from the Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division online, using the official page linked on this page. Turnaround at last check: not stated. The LLC must be current on its state filings for the certificate to issue.

What is a certificate of good standing called in Ohio?

Ohio issues it as a Certificate of Good Standing. Banks, lenders and other states accept it as the good-standing document whatever the local name, as long as it is recent and issued by the state.

Why does the bank want it dated within 30 days?

The certificate is a snapshot: it says the company was in good standing on the day the state printed it. Banks and lenders treat it as proof the company is current now, so most ask for one issued within the last 30 days, a few accept 60. Order it the week you need it, not the month before.

What keeps a Ohio LLC in good standing?

Ohio asks LLCs for no annual report, so good standing mostly turns on keeping a registered agent on file and paying any state taxes. Let the agent lapse and the state can move the company out of good standing; the certificate will not issue until it is fixed.

Is this legal advice?

No. Vermilion Vitez is a filing-services company, not a law firm. This page is educational reference information verified 2026-09-12; the Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division site is the final word.

Registered in another state too?

A foreign registration needs a certificate from the home state, and each state prices and names the document differently. All states on one page, or jump straight to one.

Last step

Need it for the bank? Let the pack order it on the right day.

Certificate from the Ohio agency, articles, operating agreement and EIN letter, dated for the appointment.

Or call (954) 470-8356 — we pick up.