Skip to content

Connecticut · certificate of good standing · verified 2026-09-12

Connecticut certificate of good standing: $50, ordered online from the Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division

Connecticut issues it as a Certificate of Legal Existence. The state fee is $50, turnaround at last check: not stated. It proves the LLC is current on its state filings on the day it is printed, which is why banks want one dated within the last 30 days.

  • Direct link to the official Connecticut order page
  • Ordered online from the state
  • What the bank does with it
$50State fee for the certificate of legal existence, verified 2026-09-12
Not statedTurnaround at last check, per the official page
OnlineOrder and pay on the state system; no third party needed

What a Connecticut certificate of legal existence says, and who asks for it

A certificate of good standing is a one-page statement from the Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division that your LLC exists on the state’s records and is current on what the state requires of it. In Connecticut the official name is Certificate of Legal Existence. It does not say anything about taxes owed elsewhere, licences or lawsuits; it says the entity is in good standing with the filing office on the date printed.

Four people ask for it: the bank opening the business account, a lender underwriting a loan, another state’s filing office when you register the LLC there as a foreign entity, and a buyer or investor doing diligence. All of them want a recent one, because the certificate is a snapshot and a company can fall out of standing the day after it is printed.

Source: Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, business.ct.gov · Forms-and-fees page (HTTP 200) prints LLC short-form $50, long-form $100; expedited service ($40-$50 extra) is online only. Ordered through a Business.CT.gov account (login required); previously requested certificates viewable at no charge. Annual report must be current. https://business.ct.gov/manage/records/certificate-of-legal-existence returned 404.. Verified 2026-09-12.

Official order page
Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division
Open business.ct.gov Connecticut’s own system. Fee $50, per business.ct.gov. Fees change without notice.

How to order it in Connecticut

1. Find the LLC on the state record

Open the official page and look the company up by name or file number. If it shows as delinquent or not in good standing, stop here: the certificate will not issue until that is fixed.

2. Order and pay online

Select the certificate of legal existence, pay the $50 state fee on the state system, and download or wait for delivery. Turnaround at last check: not stated.

3. Use it inside 30 days

Time the order for the week of the bank appointment or the loan closing. A certificate from two months ago is usually sent back for a fresh one, and you pay the fee twice.

Heading to the bank?

The certificate is one of four documents the bank will ask for

Banks want the certificate of good standing in Connecticut dated inside the last 30 days, next to certified articles, the signed operating agreement and the IRS EIN letter. The Bank-Ready Pack orders the certificate from the state the day you pay, so it lands inside the window, and assembles the rest from one form.

  • Certificate ordered from the state when you pay; state fee invoiced at cost
  • Operating agreement and banking resolution generated from your answers
  • One dated pack, ready for the account-opening appointment
Bank-Ready Pack
Everything the bank asked for, dated right
See what is in the pack Price and the state fee are shown on the pack page before you pay.

If the state says the LLC is not in good standing

Catch up the state filing

In Connecticut that means the Connecticut annual report, due March 31 every year, state fee $80, filed on time every cycle, plus a registered agent on file every day the LLC exists. Connecticut annual report page, with free reminders at 60, 30 and 7 days.

Reinstate if it was dissolved

Miss enough cycles and the state administratively dissolves the LLC. Reinstatement means the back reports, the state’s reinstatement fee and a fresh registered agent; the certificate issues once it posts. How reinstatement works.

Keep an agent on file

Every Connecticut LLC must keep a registered agent at a Connecticut street address. A lapsed agent is one of the quickest ways out of good standing. Connecticut registered agent, $74.25 a year.

Watch every entity at once

Own more than one company? The free portfolio board shows each state’s deadline and standing side by side, so no certificate order turns into a surprise.

What this is. A sourced reference page from Vermilion Vitez LLC, a filing-services company, not a law or accounting firm. The certificate is issued only by the Connecticut agency; we do not issue it, we order it from the state on your behalf inside the Bank-Ready Pack. Agency links, document names, fees and turnaround were read from the official site 2026-09-12; annual-report figures 2026-09-01. States change fees without notice; confirm at the official site before relying on them.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Connecticut certificate of good standing cost?

The Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division charges $50 for a certificate of legal existence, verified 2026-09-12 on the official fee page linked on this page. Expedited service or a certified copy of the formation documents, where offered, is priced separately by the state.

How do I get a certificate of good standing in Connecticut?

Order it from the Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division online, using the official page linked on this page. Turnaround at last check: not stated. The LLC must be current on its state filings for the certificate to issue.

What is a certificate of good standing called in Connecticut?

Connecticut issues it as a Certificate of Legal Existence. Banks, lenders and other states accept it as the good-standing document whatever the local name, as long as it is recent and issued by the state.

Why does the bank want it dated within 30 days?

The certificate is a snapshot: it says the company was in good standing on the day the state printed it. Banks and lenders treat it as proof the company is current now, so most ask for one issued within the last 30 days, a few accept 60. Order it the week you need it, not the month before.

What keeps a Connecticut LLC in good standing?

Filing the Connecticut annual report on time, due March 31 every year, state fee $80, and keeping a registered agent on file. Miss the report and the state marks the company delinquent; the certificate will not issue until it is caught up and any reinstatement is complete.

Is this legal advice?

No. Vermilion Vitez is a filing-services company, not a law firm. This page is educational reference information verified 2026-09-12; the Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division site is the final word.

Registered in another state too?

A foreign registration needs a certificate from the home state, and each state prices and names the document differently. All states on one page, or jump straight to one.

Last step

Need it for the bank? Let the pack order it on the right day.

Certificate from the Connecticut agency, articles, operating agreement and EIN letter, dated for the appointment.

Or call (954) 470-8356 — we pick up.